Astro’s Playroom Review: More Than A Tech Demo For PS5’s DualSense

Astro’s Playroom was the first game I booted up after turning on my brand spanking new PlayStation 5, freshly delivered from Amazon.

It was an easy decision, even with Demon’s Souls and Spider-Man: Miles Morales ready to go. Pre-installed to every console, Astro’s Playroom was designed to show off the DualSense controller with features like adaptive triggers and haptic feedback. It felt appropriate. After seven years with the DualShock 4, I wanted to get to know what the new guy was like.

Ahead of release, some described it as a tech demo for the DualSense. I can confidently say that anyone calling this game a tech demo is doing it a disservice. There’s just so much more to it.

Astro’s Playroom may be short – it took me around six hours to 100% everything – but every moment is packed with joy. Pound for pound, it might be the most fun I’ve had playing a game all year. There’s no fat on these bones. Just pure platforming goodness.

It’s the perfect way to start your PS5 experience.

Developed by ASOBI Team out of Sony’s Japan Studio, Astro’s Playroom is the followup to 2018’s Astro Bot Rescue Mission for PSVR. If you played Rescue Mission, you already know how talented ASOBI Team is. But don’t take my word for it. While Rescue Mission sort of flew under the radar for a lot of people (it was a PSVR exclusive after all), I have a feeling Playroom is going to propel the titular Astro to PlayStation stardom.

I mean, just look at him. How could you not love Astro? PlayStation has had a long history of platformer mascots (e.g. Crash, Spyro, Ratchet, etc.), but none have really stuck. I’m not saying Astro is going to take over as PlayStation’s Mario, but hey. Crazier things have happened.

Speaking of Mario, there’s been a lot of discussion online talking about how Astro’s Playroom is remarkably Nintendo-esque. I can’t help but agree. It’s not just the charming characters, the colorful artstyle, and tight platforming. It’s not even the surprisingly innovative motion controls. It’s the absolute reverence for everything PlayStation, done in a way I thought only Nintendo was capable of.

The game’s four worlds offer a tour through the history of PlayStation. Littered with delightful cameos from icons like Kratos and Solid Snake, every corner of this game has a reference to uncover. As you explore, you’ll uncover the game’s collectible “artifacts,” which are fittingly PlayStation devices from across the generations.

Many of these artifacts were pieces of PlayStation history that I had either completely forgotten about or didn’t even know existed. I’m not just talking about things like the PSOne LCD Screen or PSP Go. There are some deep cuts in here, like the PlayStation Mouse pictured above. These artifacts are stored into the PlayStation Labo, which serves a hub for your collection. You can stroll around the space, interacting with the devices and picking out Easter eggs. You may even earn a trophy or two along the way.

Like I said, this game was designed to show off the DualSense. Right from the start, the game blasts you into a controller demo, showing you just what this controller is capable of. I practically had to lift my jaw off the floor when I felt the adaptive triggers for the first time.

Hearing about them is one thing. Trying them is another. After a lifetime of playing games one way, suddenly experiencing adaptive triggers is something I can only describe as transformative. Before I had even started to play, I was already sold on the controller, instantly dreaming about what developers might do with it over the next few years.

Once you finish the demo, the game vaults you into things. You’re presented with four worlds to choose from, playable in any order. There’s Memory Meadow, Cooling Springs, SSD Speedway, and GPU Jungle, themed almost as if you’re exploring the innards of your PlayStation 5. Within these worlds are individual levels like the Raytrace Ruins and Caching Caves.

There’s four levels per world, two of which are your standard platforming levels, while the remaining two feature unique robot suits for Astro to don. There’s a monkey, a frog, a spaceship, and a ball, each controlling in some unique Nintendo-esque way leveraging the DualSense’s capabilities. These levels do a great job varying the pace of Playroom, presenting new gameplay, fascinating level design, and secrets to uncover the whole way through.

As you continue through the game, the controller continues to reveal more about itself. ASOBI Team has already learned how to make the DualSense sing, pairing haptic feedback with the integrated speaker to bring life to your adventure. I was shocked how much I was into this. Typically I’m not too impressed by controller gimmicks. For instance, I like HD Rumble on the Switch, but it’s never left me properly wowed. But what ASOBI Team accomplished here really blew me away.

There’s a moment in Astro’s Playroom where a fan is blowing a huge cloud of sand into Astro. This happens in the first level I played, Bot Beach. As you move Astro through the blasting sand, the controller’s haptics somehow manage to make it feel like there’s sand circulating through the DualSense. Mixed with the course noise echoing through the speaker, it was a level of immersion that caught me totally off guard.

Playroom continues to impress beyond its use of the DualSense. The game is stunning to behold, and not just from a technical perspective. ASOBI’s artists clearly had fun with this one, designing a myriad of colorful environments, liberally brimming with PlayStation iconography. There’s squares, circles, crosses, and triangles everywhere, often in unexpected places.

Playroom is composed by Kenneth Young, who returns from Rescue Mission. The soundtrack is catchy, energetic, and occasionally hilarious. I’m serious. Take a listen to the theme of GPU Jungle. It’s “sung” from the perspective of your console’s GPU. It’s as ridiculous (and amazing) as it sounds. If you’re anything like me, it’ll be stuck in your head long after you’ve finished the game.

Astro’s Playroom is – dare I say it – perhaps a flawless video game. It succeeds at everything it sets out to do. And as I dive into the rest of the PS5’s launch lineup, I still find myself tempted to return, even after doing everything it has to offer. It’s that delightful. The only problem I have with the game is that it ends.

Looking ahead, I sincerely hope that ASOBI Team gets the opportunity to work on a full title. It’s clear they’ve assembled an all-star team. I can’t wait to see what they do next. Apparently, there’s reason to expect something. “Astro will be back with news soon,” notes a recently published article from the PlayStation Blog. Could it be another VR title? A cart racer? Who knows? But I’m ready for it.

If there’s one parting thought I can leave you with, this is it. If you’re picking up a PS5, you’ve got this game for free. Play it. You won’t regret it.


Picked up a PS5? Given Astro’s Playroom a go? Let me know what you think in the comments?

Leave a comment